Publications

  • Latest Reports

    • 10 December 2020

      To assist parliamentarians in their budgetary deliberations, this report identifies key issues arising from the Government’s Fall Economic Statement (FES) published on 30 November 2020.

    • 8 December 2020

      In January 2019, PBO released a report assessing the Government of Canada’s 2018 decision to acquire, expand, operate, and eventually divest of the Trans Mountain Pipeline system.

      This report provides an updated financial valuation of the purchased assets, estimates the valuation’s sensitivity to several key factors, and projects the economic impact of the Expansion Project’s construction activities.

    • 17 November 2020

      In response to a request from the House of Commons Government Operations and Estimates Committee (OGGO), this report estimates the construction costs of the Joint Support Ship program to build two supply ships and costs of contracting converted commercial vessels named the MV Asterix and the Obelix to provide military support. This report also attempts to compare the two projects by incorporating additional project cost elements.

    • 6 November 2020

      This report updates PBO’s February 2020 assessment of the sustainability of government finances over the long term for the federal government, subnational governments and public pension plans. It incorporates federal and provincial budgetary measures up to 1 September and 30 October, respectively.

    • 4 November 2020

      To assist parliamentarians in their role to scrutinize the raising and spending of public monies, this report provides an overview of the spending measures associated with the Government of Canada’s proactive pay equity regime within the federal public and private sectors.

    • 4 November 2020

      This note presents a detailed analysis of the Government’s second supplementary estimates for the 2020-21 fiscal year, which seeks Parliament’s approval of $20.9 billion.

    • 29 October 2020

      This report was prepared at the request of Senator Kim Pate. It estimates the impact of a proposed bill in the Senate, S-207, on sentencing for murder and the cost implications of those changes for the Correctional Service of Canada.

    • 20 October 2020

      This report responds to a request from a Senator to estimate the financial cost of Bill C-7, which broadens eligibility for medical assistance in dying.

    • 8 October 2020

      This report updates and extends PBO’s analysis of the additional carbon pricing needed to achieve Canada’s greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions target in 2030 under the Paris Agreement.

      We provide an updated estimate based on a broad carbon levy and extend our analysis to incorporate additional carbon pricing using an Output-Based Pricing System (OBPS), taking into consideration alternative structures. Estimates of the corresponding impacts on the Canadian economy are also provided.

    • 8 October 2020

      This report analyses the relationship between federal spending and additional tax revenues generated through business compliance programs since 2015-16 and estimates how changes in funding might affect future revenues.

  • Legislative Costing Notes

    • 20 January 2021

      In the 2020 Fall Economic Statement, the Government proposed to index the maximum payment of $60 per capita (set in 1987) available to a province each year through the Fiscal Stabilization Program (FSP). This indexation increases the maximum payment to $169.82 per capita for both fiscal years 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 and will grow with the Canadian economy, that is, nominal gross domestic product (GDP) per person, for subsequent years.

    • 20 January 2021

      The GST/HST would apply to all taxable supplies of short-term accommodation facilitated through digital accommodation platforms.

      Notably, where the traditional supplier (e.g. property owner) is not registered for the GST/HST, the accommodation platform would be deemed the supplier and would be responsible for the collection and remittance of the GST/HST.

    • 14 January 2021

      Removing interest charges on the repayment of the federal portion of Canada Student Loans (CSL) and on Canada Apprentice Loans (CAL) for the fiscal year 2021-22.

    • 14 January 2021

      Increasing the Canada Child Benefit (CCB) in 2021 by $1,200 for each child under the age of 6 for families with an adjusted net income at or below $120,000 who are entitled to the CCB.

      Increasing the Canada Child Benefit (CCB) in 2021 by $600 for each child under the age of 6 for families with an adjusted net income above $120,000 who are entitled to the CCB.

      Increasing the Children’s Special Allowance in 2021 by $1,200 for each child under the age of 6 that is under the care of child protection services.

    • 14 January 2021

      Applying an annual limit of $200,000 on the amount of employee stock options qualifying for the 50% stock option deduction. The limit will be based on the fair market value of the shares at the time the options are granted. Stock options granted in excess of the $200,000 threshold will be considered ineligible, meaning that the entire benefit realized from the exercise of ineligible options by the employee will now be considered taxable income.

      For stock options that are considered ineligible, the employer will now be entitled to a tax deduction equal to the total benefit realized by the exercise of these options by the employee.

      Canadian-controlled private corporations (CCPCs) and corporations with revenues of $500 million or less will not be subject to the new rules.

      This measure will be introduced on 1 July 2021. Only options granted after that date will be subject to the new rules.

    • 16 December 2020

      This policy extends the period that junior mining exploration companies and other issuers of flow through shares (FTS) have to spend the capital raised through the use of FTS agreements by an additional 12 months. This policy applies to FTS agreements that were entered into to fund Canadian exploration expenditures (CEE) using the general rule after March 2018 and before the end of 2020 or, in the case of the look-back rule, in 2019 and 2020. The policy provides an additional 12 months for firms to incur eligible CEE before losing the tax benefits tied to the FTS or having to pay fines associated with failing to incur expenses within the time frame specified by the agreement.

      PBO estimates that the net cost of the policy will be $32.5 million from 2019-2020 to 2021-2022.

    • 16 December 2020

      Providing a wage subsidy to employers with reduced revenues due to COVID.

      The subsidy is available for wages paid in sixteen 4-week periods from 15 March 2020 to June 2021. The subsidy rate for March 2021 is assumed to also apply for the April to June 2021 periods. Consistent with the magnitude of the Department of Finance’s estimates, it is assumed that for April to June of 2021, revenues will be compared to a reasonably constant baseline unaffected by COVID-19.

      The revenue decline required for eligibility is 15% for March, and 30% for April, May and June 2020. For July onwards, employers are eligible for the subsidy if in a period they have any revenue decline. The revenue decline is measured relative to either the average of January/February 2020 or the corresponding month in the previous year.
      The subsidy rate that an employer will receive depends on the extent of the employer’s revenue losses in the corresponding calendar month. The employee remuneration eligible for subsides is capped at $1,129 per week. For Periods 1 to 4, the subsidy is 75% of wages up to the lesser of the weekly cap and wages actually paid. For new employees, the subsidy is 75% of wages paid up to the cap. 

      For employees on leave with pay, employers can also recover 100% of employer-paid contributions to Employment Insurance, the Canada Pension Plan, the Quebec Pension Plan, and the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan.

      Eligible employers include individuals, taxable corporations, partnerships, non-profit institutions and registered charities; public bodies are not eligible.

    • 16 December 2020

      Providing rent assistance to businesses.
      The rent assistance will be provided as direct transfers to businesses with revenue declines, covering the period from 27 September 2020 to June 2021. The subsidy rate for March 2021 is assumed to also apply for the April to June 2021 periods. Consistent with the magnitude of the Department of Finance’s estimates, it is assumed that for April to June of 2021, revenues will be compared to a reasonably constant baseline unaffected by COVID-19.
      Rent assistance is calculated as a percentage of eligible expenses which is greater for businesses with greater revenue declines.
      An additional 25% subsidy is available to businesses that are forced to temporarily close certain locations or have their business activities significantly restricted by a direct mandatory public health order. 
      Eligible expenses include commercial rent, property taxes, property insurance, and interest on commercial mortgages (subject to conditions), less any subleasing revenues. Expenses for each qualifying period would be capped at $75,000 per month per location with an overall cap of $300,000 per month shared among affiliated entities.
      The program is not cost-shared with provinces or territories.

    • 3 December 2020

      This bill amends the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act to extend the exemption for qualifying farming fuel to marketable natural gas and propane.

      The exemption will cover marketable natural gas and propane used for all farm operations. Currently, carbon charge exemptions for these fuels apply only to greenhouse operations.  The exemption applies only to provinces and territories that are subject to federal carbon pricing because they do not have climate pricing plans that meet federal standards.

      Fuel used for farming activities, but not personal use, is eligible for the exemption.

    • 19 October 2020

      The Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) eligibility period expired on September 26, 2020. To support those who remain unable to work, the Government has made several modifications to Employment Insurance (EI) regular, maternity and parental programs:

      1. Reduce, to 120 hours through a credit, the minimum number of hours of insurable employment required for a regular, maternity and parental claim; 
      2. Set a minimum EI regular, maternity and parental benefit rate of $500 per week ($300 for extended parental benefits); 
      3. Provide a minimum entitlement of 26 weeks for regular EI beneficiaries.

      The weekly benefit rate is calculated based on the 14 best weeks of earnings. 

      In general, these changes are effective on September 27, 2020 for one year. There are a few exceptions: the hours credit is retroactive to March 15, 2020 and the 26 week minimum entitlement is effective on August 9, 2020.

Publications

  • Derniers rapports

    • 10 décembre 2020

      Afin d’aider les parlementaires dans le cadre de leurs délibérations budgétaires, le présent rapport cerne les principaux enjeux découlant de l’*Énoncé économique de l’automne de 2020* (ÉÉA) du gouvernement publié le 30 novembre dernier.

    • 8 décembre 2020

      En janvier 2019, le DPB a publié un rapport évaluant la décision du gouvernement du Canada en 2018 d’acheter, d’agrandir, d’exploiter puis de céder le pipeline Trans Mountain.
       
      Le présent rapport renferme une évaluation financière des actifs achetés, une estimation de la sensibilité de cette évaluation à plusieurs facteurs clés, et une estimation des retombées économiques des activités de construction du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain (PARTM).

    • 17 novembre 2020

      Le présent rapport a été produit en réponse à une demande du Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes (le Comité OGGO). Il propose une estimation des coûts du programme de navires de soutien interarmées (NSI) pour la construction de deux navires ravitailleurs, ainsi que des coûts d’un contrat de conversion des navires maritimes (NM) Astérix et Obélix pour fournir un appui militaire. Il tente également de comparer les deux projets en intégrant des éléments de coût supplémentaires.

    • 6 novembre 2020

      Le présent rapport actualise l’évaluation qu’a faite le DPB en février 2020 de la viabilité financière à long terme du gouvernement fédéral, des administrations infranationales et des régimes de pensions publics. Il inclut des mesures financières fédérales et provinciales jusqu'au 1er septembre et au 30 octobre, respectivement.

    • 4 novembre 2020

      Afin d’aider les parlementaires à s’acquitter de leur rôle à l’égard de l’examen des recettes et des dépenses de l’État, ce rapport présente un aperçu des mesures de dépense liées au régime proactif d’équité salariale du gouvernement du Canada dans les secteurs fédéraux public et privé.

    • 4 novembre 2020

      Cette note fournit une analyse détaillée du deuxième budget supplémentaire des dépenses du gouvernement pour l'exercice 2020-2021, dans lequel ce dernier demande au Parlement d'approuver des dépenses totalisant 20,9 milliards de dollars.

    • 29 octobre 2020

      Le présent rapport a été préparé à la demande de la sénatrice Kim Pate. Il a pour objet d’estimer les conséquences du projet de loi S-207 présenté au Sénat sur la détermination des peines pour meurtre, ainsi que l’incidence financière des changements éventuels pour le Service correctionnel du Canada.

    • 20 octobre 2020

      Le présent rapport donne suite à la demande d’un sénateur d’estimer les coûts financiers découlant du projet de loi C-7, qui vise à étendre l’admissibilité à l’aide médicale à mourir.

    • 8 octobre 2020

      Le présent rapport actualise et étoffe l’analyse du DPB sur les mesures de tarification supplémentaires nécessaires pour atteindre l’objectif de réduction des gaz à effet de serre (GES) fixé pour 2030 dans l’Accord de Paris.

      Nous fournissons une estimation à jour de la tarification du carbone nécessaire pour atteindre cet objectif et nous élargissons la portée de notre analyse pour y incorporer une tarification supplémentaire du carbone au moyen d’un système de tarification fondé sur le rendement (STFR), en tenant compte de différentes structures possibles. Une estimation des répercussions sur l’économie canadienne de chaque formule est également incluse dans ce rapport.

    • 8 octobre 2020

      Ce rapport présente une analyse des relations entre les dépenses fédérales et les recettes fiscales additionnelles générées par les programmes d’observation des entreprises depuis l’exercice 2015 2016, en plus d’offrir une estimation des effets qu’ont les modifications au financement sur les futures recettes.

  • Notes sur l’évaluation du coût d’une mesure législative

    • 14 janvier 2021

      Élimination des intérêts sur la partie fédérale des prêts d’études canadiens (PEC) et des prêts canadiens aux apprentis (PCA) pour l’exercice 2021-2022.

    • 14 janvier 2021

      Bonification de l’Allocation canadienne pour enfants (ACE) de 1 200 $ en 2021 pour chaque enfant de moins de six ans dont la famille a un revenu net rajusté de 120 000 $ ou moins et est admissible à l’ACE.

      Bonification de l’ACE de 600 $ en 2021 pour chaque enfant de moins de six ans dont la famille a un revenu net rajusté de plus de 120 000 $ et est admissible à l’ACE.

      Bonification de l’Allocation spéciale pour enfants de 1 200 $ en 2021 pour chaque enfant de moins de six ans confié aux services de protection de la jeunesse.

    • 14 janvier 2021

      Mise en place d’un plafond annuel de 200 000 dollars sur le montant des options d’achat d’actions des employés qui est admissible à la déduction d’option d’achat d’action de 50%. Le plafond sera calculé à partir de la juste valeur marchande des actions au moment où les options sont accordées. Les options d’achat d’actions accordées au-delà du seuil de 200 000 dollars seront considérées comme étant inadmissibles, ce qui signifie que la totalité du bénéfice réalisé par l’exercice des options inadmissibles par l’employé sera maintenant considéré comme du revenu imposable.

      Pour les options d’achat d’actions qui sont considérées comme étant inadmissibles, l’employeur pourra dorénavant bénéficier d’une déduction d’impôt égale à la totalité du bénéfice réalisé par l’exercice de ces options par l’employé.

      Les Sociétés Privées sous Contrôle Canadien (SPCC) et les sociétés ayant un revenu inférieur à 500 millions de dollars ne seront pas assujetties aux nouvelles règles.

      Cette mesure sera mise en place le 1er Juillet 2021. Seulement les options accordées après cette date seront assujetties aux nouvelles règles.

    • 16 décembre 2020

      La présente politique vise à prolonger de 12 mois le délai accordé aux petites sociétés d’exploration minière et aux autres émetteurs d’actions accréditives (AA) pour dépenser le capital levé au titre de conventions d’émission d’AA. Elle s’applique aux conventions conclues pour financer les frais d’exploration au Canada (FEC) en vertu de la règle générale après mars 2018 et avant la fin de 2020 ou en vertu de la règle du retour en arrière en 2019 et en 2020. Elle accorde aux sociétés 12 mois de plus pour engager les FEC admissibles avant de perdre les avantages fiscaux associés aux AA ou de payer les amendes imposées faute d’avoir engagé les frais dans le délai prescrit dans la convention.

      Le DPB estime le coût net total de cette politique à 32,5 millions de dollars de 2019-2020 à 2021-2022.

    • 16 décembre 2020

      Accorder une subvention salariale aux employeurs faisant face à une diminution de revenus en raison de la COVID-19.

      La subvention s’applique aux salaires payés au cours de 16 périodes de quatre semaines, entre le 15 mars 2020 et juin 2021. Le taux de subvention qui a été annoncé pour mars 2021 est présumé d’aussi s’appliquer à la période d’avril à juin 2021. Conformément à l’ampleur des estimations du ministère des Finances, on suppose que pour avril à juin 2021, les revenus seront comparés à une base de référence raisonnablement constante non affectée par le COVID-19.

      Le seuil d’admissibilité lié à la baisse de revenus est de 15 % en mars et de 30 % en avril, mai et juin 2020. Pour les mois de juillet et après, les employeurs sont admissibles à la subvention pour une période donnée s’ils ont enregistré toute baisse de revenus. Les baisses de revenus sont mesurées soit par rapport à la moyenne de janvier et de février 2020 ou au mois correspondant de l’exercice précédent.

      Le taux de subvention que recevra un employeur dépendra de ses pertes de revenus dans le mois civil correspondant. La rémunération des employés admissibles aux subventions est plafonnée à 1 129 $ par semaine. Pour les périodes un à quatre, la subvention sera fixée à 75 % de la rémunération jusqu’au moindre du plafond hebdomadaire et de la rémunération effectivement versée. Pour les nouveaux employés, la subvention sera fixée à 75 % de la rémunération versée, toujours jusqu’à concurrence du plafond hebdomadaire. 

      Les employeurs admissibles peuvent aussi recouvrer 100 % des cotisations qu’ils ont versées à l’assurance-emploi, au Régime de pensions du Canada, au Régime de rentes du Québec et au Régime québécois d’assurance parentale pour les employés qui sont en congé payé.
      Par employeurs admissibles, on entend les particuliers, les sociétés imposables, les partenariats, les organismes sans but lucratif et les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés; les organismes publics ne sont pas admissibles.

    • 16 décembre 2020

      Accorder une aide pour le loyer aux entreprises.
      L’aide pour le loyer, couvrant la période du 27 septembre 2020 à juin 2021, sera accordée sous forme de transferts directs aux entreprises ayant enregistré des baisses de revenus. Le taux de subvention qui a été annoncé pour mars 2021 est présumé d’aussi s’appliquer à la période d’avril à juin 2021. Conformément à l’ampleur des estimations du ministère des Finances, on suppose que pour avril à juin 2021, les revenus seront comparés à une base de référence raisonnablement constante non affectée par le COVID-19.
      On calcule l’aide pour le loyer sous forme de pourcentage des dépenses admissibles qui est plus élevé pour les entreprises ayant enregistré des baisses de revenus plus importantes.
      Une subvention additionnelle de 25 % est offerte aux entreprises qui ont dû fermer temporairement certains emplacements ou dont les activités ont été considérablement limitées par une ordonnance de santé publique qui les touche directement. 
      Les dépenses admissibles comprennent le loyer commercial, les impôts fonciers, l’assurance de biens et les intérêts sur les hypothèques commerciales (sous réserve de conditions), moins les revenus de sous-location. Les dépenses pour chaque période admissible seraient assujetties à un plafond de 75 000 $ par mois par emplacement, et à un plafond global de 300 000 $ par mois partagés entre les entités affiliées.
      Les coûts de ce programme ne sont pas partagés avec les provinces ou les territoires.

    • 3 décembre 2020

      Ce projet de loi modifie la Loi sur la tarification de la pollution causée par les gaz à effet de serre afin d’élargir l’exemption qui s’applique au combustible agricole admissible pour inclure le gaz naturel commercialisable et le propane.

      L’exemption s’appliquera au gaz naturel commercialisable et au propane consommés par toutes les activités agricoles. À l’heure actuelle, l’exemption à la tarification du carbone n’est accordée, pour ces combustibles, qu’aux exploitants de serres . L’exemption s’applique uniquement aux provinces et aux territoires qui sont assujettis à la tarification fédérale du carbone parce qu’ils n’ont pas de régime de tarification climatique répondant aux normes fédérales.

      Pour être admissible à l’exemption, le combustible doit être utilisé pour les activités agricoles, et non à des fins personnelles.

    • 19 octobre 2020

      La période d'admissibilité de la prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) a expiré le 26 septembre 2020. Afin d’aider les personnes qui ne sont toujours pas en mesure de travailler, le gouvernement a apporté plusieurs modifications aux programmes de prestations ordinaires, parentales et de maternité de l’assurance-emploi :

      1. À l’aide d’un crédit, réduire à 120 heures le nombre minimum d’heures d’emploi assurable requis pour être admissibles aux prestations ordinaires, parentales et de maternité; 
      2. Fixer à 500 $ par semaine le taux minimum des prestations ordinaires, parentales et de maternité (300 $ dans le cas des prestations parentales prolongées); 
      3. Fournir au moins 26 semaines de prestations ordinaires.

      Le taux des prestations hebdomadaires est calculé sur la base des 14 meilleures semaines de rémunération. 

      De façon générale, ces modifications sont en vigueur pour un an, à compter du 27 septembre 2020. Quelques exceptions s’appliquent : le crédit d’heures est rétroactif au 15 mars 2020 et la période minimale de prestation de 26 semaines s’applique à partir du 9 août 2020.

    • 8 octobre 2020

      Établir un processus pour l’expiration des casiers judiciaires sans que la personne doive soumettre une demande ou payer des frais de demande. La période d’attente pour l’expiration d’une peine sera aussi plus courte que celle qui s’applique actuellement aux suspensions de casiers. Les critères d’expiration des casiers sont simplifiés pour que l’admissibilité soit déterminée au moyen du fichier automatisé des relevés de condamnations criminelles géré par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et au moyen de la vérification du casier judiciaire obtenue et soumise par le demandeur. 

      Le projet de loi réduira les recettes provenant des frais d’utilisation de 5 millions de dollars par année.

    • 7 octobre 2020

      La prestation Canadienne de la relance économique est une prestation qui sera mise en œuvre le 27 Septembre 2020 et qui s’élèvera à 500$ par semaine pour un maximum de 26 semaines. Elle sera offerte aux travailleurs qui ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance emploi, qui ont gagné au moins 5 000$ en 2019 ou en 2020 et qui ne sont pas en mesure de reprendre leur emploi ou qui ont vu leurs revenus diminuer d’au moins 50% en raison de la pandémie de la COVID-19. La durée de ce programme est d’un an.

      Ceux qui demandent la prestation devront rembourser 0,50 $ pour chaque dollar de leur revenu annuel dépassant un seuil de 38 000 $ pendant l’année civile, jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximum de la prestation qu’ils auront reçue. Le seuil de 38 000$ n’inclut pas les montants reçus en vertu de la prestation. La prestation est imposable.

      Le DPB estime le coût net total de cette mesure à 12 853 millions de dollars en 2020-2021 et à 5 087 millions de dollars en 2021-2022.