• 9 August 2021

    This note was prepared at the request of Mr. Maxime Blanchette-Joncas, MP for Rimouski-Neigette—Témiscouata—Les Basques.

    Introducing a tax credit of up to $3,000 per year, to a maximum cumulative amount of $8,000, for recent graduates working in a designated region. The designated regions are usually rural or remote. The tax credit will be available beginning in 2021.
    The PBO estimates that the cost will peak at $129 million in 2023-24. It will then decrease slightly over the next two years before reaching a steady state in 2025-26. It will then grow at the same rate as the target population.

  • 21 July 2021

    Introducing immediate expensing for eligible property (most capital property except generally long-lived assets) acquired by a CCPC on or after Budget Day and that becomes available for use before January 1, 2024, up to a maximum amount of $1.5 million per taxation year. The availability of other enhanced deductions under existing rules – such as the full expensing for manufacturing and processing machinery and equipment and for clean energy equipment, introduced in the 2018 Fall Economic Statement – would not reduce the maximum amount available under this new measure.

  • 8 July 2021

    Temporary enhancements to the Work-Sharing (WS) program, currently effective between March 15, 2020 and September 26, 2021 will be extended for one additional year. This includes the extension of the maximum duration of a WS agreement from 38 weeks to 76 weeks, the waiving of the mandatory cooling off period for employers already using the WS program, the easing of the recovery plan requirements, and the expansion of eligibility criteria.

  • 23 June 2021

    Bill C-206 amends the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act to extend the exemption for qualifying farming fuel to marketable natural gas and propane. This note updates a prior PBO costing to account for the federal carbon pricing backstop rising to $170/Gt by 2030.

  • 23 June 2021

    This measure offers up to $40,000 in interest-free loans to eligible homeowners and landlords to complete deep home retrofits recommended through an authorized EnerGuide energy assessment. 

    This measure builds on a program put forward in the 2020 Fall Economic Statement, which provided funding for up to one million free energy audits and up to 700,000 grants of up to $5,000 for homeowners to complete energy efficient home improvements.

  • 23 June 2021

    - Providing a one-time taxable payment of $500 in August 2021 to OAS pensioners who will be 75 or over as of June 2022. This will include seniors whose OAS pensions have been fully clawed back through the OAS Recovery Tax.
    - Increasing OAS payments for pensioners 75 and over by 10 per cent on an ongoing basis as of July 2022.

  • 17 June 2021

    Waiving the waiting period for EI beneficiaries who establish a new claim between January 31, 2021, and September 25, 2021. This includes claims for regular, fishing, and special benefits and will allow people who apply during that period and return to work before exhausting all their weeks of entitlement to benefit from an additional week of income support. The maximum number of weeks of benefits will not change.

  • 17 June 2021

    Maintaining uniform access to EI regular and special benefits across all regions, through a 420-hour entrance requirement, with a 14-week minimum entitlement for regular benefits, and a new common earnings threshold for fishing benefits. This measure is assumed to come into force on September 26, 2021 and last for one year.

  • 10 June 2021

    Modifying federal student financial assistance, including support under the Canada Student Loans Program (CSLP).

  • 3 June 2021

    Broadening access to the CWB by increasing the phase-in rates and thresholds, as well as providing greater financial incentive for working couples. 

  • 27 May 2021

    Provide eligible employers with a subsidy of up to 50 per cent on the incremental remuneration paid to eligible employees between June 6, 2021 and November 20, 2021.  Employers must choose between the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) or the Canada Recovery Hiring Program (CRHP).

  • 27 May 2021

    In Budget 2021 the Government of Canada proposed to increase the maximum number of weeks for which employment insurance sickness benefits may be paid due to a prescribed illness, injury, or quarantine to 26 weeks from 15 weeks. The extension is planned to come into effect summer 2022.

  • 27 May 2021

    Implementation of a new corporate income tax for companies offering digital services. The tax will take effect January 1, 2022. This measure is temporary and will only apply in the event that Canada does not reach a multilateral agreement on the taxation of digital services.

    It will be a 3% tax on revenues collected by online marketplaces, social media, online advertising services, and user data sales and licensing services. This tax will apply to businesses with worldwide revenues of at least €750 million and Canadian revenues of more than $20 million.

  • 26 May 2021

    Introducing financial support for oil and gas companies to reduce methane emissions.

    The Emissions Reduction Fund (ERF) – Onshore will offer up to $675 million in contributions to support capital projects that lower or eliminate routine venting of methane oil and gas operations.  The overall ERF includes a further $75 million for offshore oil and gas operations, which is outside the scope of the analysis.

  • 26 May 2021

    Bill C-265 proposes to increase the maximum number of weeks for which employment insurance sickness benefits may be paid due to a prescribed illness, injury, or quarantine to 50 weeks from 15 weeks. The extension is planned to come into effect summer 2022.

  • 20 May 2021

    The corporate income tax (CIT) rate on eligible zero-emission technology manufacturing and processing activities will be reduced in half. This will reduce the CIT rate on small businesses from 9 to 4.5 per cent and the general CIT rate from 15 to 7.5 per cent. The rate reduction will apply to taxation years that begin after 2021 and before 2031 (gradually phasing out between 2029 and 2031).

  • 20 May 2021

    The introduction of a sales tax applied at the point of purchase of automobiles and aircraft valued over $100,000 and vessels valued over $250,000. The tax will only apply to new vehicles purchased for personal use. The tax rate will be the lesser of 10 per cent of the full value of the vehicle, or 20 per cent of the value above the threshold. 

    This tax will come into effect on January 1, 2022.

  • 13 May 2021

    Certain foreign-based sellers store goods in warehouses within Canada in anticipation of the goods being sold to buyers located in Canada. Once an item is purchased, it is shipped from the warehouse to the buyer.

  • 13 May 2021

    In Budget 2021 the government of Canada proposed to introduce a national 1% tax on the value of non-resident, non-Canadian owned residential real estate considered to be vacant or underused. The tax is planned to take effect on January 2022 and will require all owners of residential property in Canada, other than Canadian citizens or permanent residents to file a declaration for the prior calendar year in respect of each Canadian residential property they own. Depending on circumstances, owners may be eligible to exemptions from the tax in respect of a property for the year. An exemption may be available, for instance, where a property is leased to one or more qualified tenants in relation to the owner for a minimum period in a calendar year.

  • 5 May 2021

    Increasing the tobacco excise duty rate by $4 per carton of 200 cigarettes, along with corresponding increases to the excise duty rates for other tobacco products.

• 21 juillet 2021

    Possibilité pour une SPCC de passer immédiatement en charges certains biens admissibles (la plupart des immobilisations, à l’exception des actifs généralement à long terme) – jusqu’à concurrence de 1,5 million de dollars par exercice – acquis à compter du jour de dépôt du Budget et qui sont prêts à être utilisés avant le 1er janvier 2024. Les déductions bonifiées qui existaient déjà – par exemple la passation en charges intégrale pour la machinerie et l’équipement de fabrication et de transformation, ainsi que pour l’équipement d’énergie propre, dont l’annonce avait été faite dans l’Énoncé économique de l’automne 2018 – ne réduiront pas le plafond applicable en vertu de cette nouvelle mesure.

  • 8 juillet 2021

    Les améliorations temporaires au programme de Travail partagé, actuellement en vigueur du 15 mars 2020 au 26 septembre 2021, seront prolongées d’une autre année. Cela comprend la prolongation de la durée maximale possible d’une entente de 38 à 76 semaines, la suppression de la période d’attente obligatoire pour les employeurs qui ont déjà utilisé le programme de Travail partagé, la réduction des exigences relatives au plan de redressement et l’élargissement des critères d’admissibilité.

  • 23 juin 2021

    Le projet de loi C-206 modifie la Loi sur la tarification de la pollution causée par les gaz à effet de serre afin d’élargir l’exemption qui s’applique au combustible agricole admissible pour inclure le gaz naturel commercialisable et le propane. Cette note met à jour une évaluation antérieure du DPB pour tenir compte de la hausse du prix du carbone fédéral à 170 $/Gt d'ici 2030.

  • 23 juin 2021

    Cette mesure offre aux propriétaires occupants et aux propriétaires bailleurs admissibles des prêts sans intérêt d’une valeur pouvant atteindre 40 000 $ pour effectuer des rénovations résidentielles profondes recommandées par une évaluation ÉnerGuide de l’efficacité énergétique autorisée.

    Cette mesure s’appuie sur un programme présenté dans l’*Énoncé économique de l’automne 2020*, qui visait à financer jusqu’à un million d’évaluations de l’efficacité énergétique et à offrir jusqu’à 700 000 subventions pouvant atteindre 5 000 $ à des propriétaires pour qu’ils puissent effectuer des améliorations éconergétiques résidentielles.

  • 23 juin 2021

    Offrir un paiement unique imposable de 500 $ en août 2021 aux pensionnés de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) qui seront âgés de 75 ans ou plus en juin 2022, dont les aînés qui ont vu leur pension de SV totalement éliminée par l’impôt de récupération de la SV et augmenter en permanence de 10 % les prestations de SV pour les pensionnés de 75 ans et plus, à compter de juillet 2022.

  • 17 juin 2021

    Suspendre la période d’attente pour les bénéficiaires de l’assurance-emploi (AE) qui présentent une nouvelle demande entre le 31 janvier 2021 et le 25 septembre 2021. Cela couvre les demandes de prestations régulières, de prestations de pêcheur et de prestations spéciales. Les personnes qui présentent une demande au cours de cette période et qui retournent au travail avant d’avoir épuisé toutes leurs semaines de prestations pourront profiter d’une semaine supplémentaire de soutien du revenu. Le nombre maximal de semaines de prestations restera le même.

  • 17 juin 2021

    Maintien d’un accès uniforme aux prestations d’AE régulières et spéciales entre toutes les régions, en établissant une norme d’admissibilité de 420 heures, ainsi que l’admissibilité à au moins 14 semaines pour les prestations régulières, et un nouveau seuil de revenu commun pour les prestations de pêcheur. La mesure est supposée entrer en vigueur le 26 septembre 2021 et durer un an.

  • 10 juin 2021

    Changement à l’aide financière fédérale aux étudiants, y compris l’aide en vertu du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants (PCPE).

  • 3 juin 2021

    Élargir l’accès à l’ACT en augmentant les taux et les seuils d’entrée progressifs, ainsi que fournir un plus grand incitatif financier aux couples qui travaillent.

  • 27 mai 2021

    Octroi aux employeurs admissibles d’une subvention à hauteur de 50 % de la rémunération supplémentaire versée aux employés admissibles entre le 6 juin et le 20 novembre 2021. L’employeur doit choisir entre la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC) et le Programme d’embauche pour la relance économique du Canada (PEREC).

  • 27 mai 2021

    Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a proposé de faire passer de 15 à 26 le nombre maximal de semaines pendant lesquelles des prestations peuvent être versées dans le cas d’une maladie, d’une blessure ou d’une mise en quarantaine prévue par règlement. La prolongation doit entrer en vigueur à l’été 2022.

  • 27 mai 2021

    Mise en place d’une nouvelle taxe sur le revenu des sociétés offrant des services numériques. La taxe entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2022. Cette mesure est provisoire et ne s’appliquera que dans le cas où le Canada ne parviendrait pas à une entente multilatérale pour la taxation des services numériques. 

    Il s’agira d’une taxe de 3 % sur les recettes perçues par les places de marché en ligne, les médias sociaux, les services de publicité en ligne et les services de vente et de licence de données de l’utilisateur. Cette taxe s’appliquera aux entreprises ayant des recettes mondiales d’au moins 750 millions d’euros et des recettes canadiennes de plus de 20 millions de dollars.

  • 26 mai 2021

    Introduire une aide financière aux secteurs pétrolier et gazier pour la réduction des émissions de méthane.

    Le volet côtier et infracôtier du Fonds de réduction des émissions (FRE) offrira des contributions à hauteur de 675 millions de dollars pour des projets d’immobilisations qui réduisent ou éliminent la mise à l’air de routine de méthane provenant d’activités pétrolières et gazières. Le FRE comprend également 75 millions de dollars pour les activités pétrolières et gazières extracôtières dont il n’est pas question dans la présente analyse.

  • 26 mai 2021

    Le projet de loi C-265 propose de faire passer de 15 à 50 le nombre maximal de semaines pendant lesquelles des prestations peuvent être versées dans le cas d’une maladie, d’une blessure ou d’une mise en quarantaine prévue par règlement. La prolongation doit entrer en vigueur à l’été 2022.

  • 20 mai 2021

    Le taux d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés pour les activités admissibles de fabrication et de transformation de technologies à zéro émission sera réduit de moitié.  Le taux d’imposition des petites entreprises passera ainsi de 9 à 4,5 % et le taux d’imposition général sur le revenu des sociétés, de 15 à 7,5 %. La réduction de taux s’appliquera aux années d’imposition débutant après 2021 mais avant 2031 (avec une élimination progressive entre 2029 et 2031).

  • 20 mai 2021

    Mise en place d’une taxe sur les ventes, au point de vente, d’automobiles et d’aéronefs d’une valeur de plus de 100 000 $ et de navires évalués à plus de 250 000 $. La taxe ne s’appliquera qu’aux véhicules neufs servant pour un usage personnel. Son taux sera le moindre entre 10 % de la valeur totale du véhicule et 20 % de la valeur dépassant le seuil. 

    Cette taxe entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2022.

  • 13 mai 2021

    Certains vendeurs étrangers stockent des biens dans des entrepôts situés au Canada en vue de les vendre à des acheteurs canadiens. Après avoir été achetés, les articles gardés en entrepôt sont expédiés à l’acheteur.

  • 13 mai 2021

    Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement du Canada propose d’instaurer une nouvelle taxe nationale de 1 % sur la valeur des immeubles résidentiels situés au Canada appartenant à des étrangers non-résidents et considérés comme vacants ou sous-utilisés. Cette taxe entrerait en vigueur en janvier 2022. Tous les propriétaires d’immeubles résidentiels situés au Canada, sauf les citoyens canadiens ou les résidents permanents du Canada, seront tenus de produire une déclaration annuelle pour l’année civile précédente relativement à chaque immeuble résidentiel canadien dont ils sont propriétaires. Dans certaines circonstances, le propriétaire peut être admissible à une exonération de la taxe relative à un immeuble pour l’année. Une exonération peut être disponible, par exemple, lorsqu’un immeuble est loué à un ou plusieurs locataires admissibles à l’égard du propriétaire pendant une période minimale au cours d’une année civile.

  • 5 mai 2021

    Augmentation du taux du droit d’accise de 4 $ la cartouche de 200 cigarettes, et hausses correspondantes des taux du droit d’accise sur les autres produits du tabac.

  • 31 mars 2021

    Le nombre de semaines de prestations régulières d’AE passera à 50 semaines au maximum pour les demandes présentées entre le 27 septembre 2020 et le 25 septembre 2021.