Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

The following FAQs are intended to provide answers to the most frequently asked questions. These will be updated periodically as new questions arise.

To learn more about the PBO during the election period, visit the EPC FAQ page.

1.    What is the Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO)?

The Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO) is an independent and non-partisan agent of Parliament that provides independent and non-partisan financial and economic analysis.

2.    What is an independent and non-partisan agent of Parliament?

Officers or Agents of Parliament are parliamentary entities rather than governmental entities. They are responsible directly to Parliament and are independent from the government. The PBO’s responsibilities are outlined in the Parliament of Canada Act

3.    What is the PBO’s role?

The PBO supports Parliament by providing financial and economic analysis for the purposes of raising the quality of parliamentary debate and promoting greater budget transparency and accountability.  Parliamentarians and Committees may request the PBO to undertake analysis on specific matters related to financial costs, the nation’s finances or the national economy.

Parliament has given the PBO two distinct mandates:

  • When Parliament is not dissolved:  
    The PBO provides independent economic and financial analysis to the Senate and House of Commons, analyzes the estimates of the government and, if requested, estimates the financial cost of any proposal over which Parliament has jurisdiction.
     
  • During the 120-day period before a fixed general election or when Parliament is dissolved for a general election:
    The PBO provides political parties, at their request, with estimates of the financial cost of election campaign proposals they are considering making.

4.    How long is the PBO’s mandate?

The PBO is an officer of the Senate and the House of Commons appointed by the Governor in Council to hold office during good behaviour for a once renewable term of not more than seven years. The PBO shall serve no more than 14 years in office in total.

5.    Why was the PBO position created?

The PBO position was created in 2006 to support Parliament in exercising its oversight of the government’s stewardship of public funds. The Officer does so by providing independent financial and economic analysis to enhance budget transparency and promote informed public dialogue. 

6.    How the PBO's team is composed?

The PBO’s organizational structure includes teams responsible for Budgetary Analysis, Policy Costing, Fiscal Analysis, Economic Analysis, Administrative Services, Communications, and Human Resources.  The team is composed of about 40 employees, including economists, financial analysts, lawyers, and functional professionals. 

7.    What kind of subjects does the PBO analyze?

The PBO is responsible for preparing analysis that covers a broad range of topics.  This requires PBO analysts to develop knowledge of a wide range of areas, including climate change, housing, high technology, and national defense.

8.    Who can request analysis from the PBO? 

The PBO prepares analysis for parliamentarians, including individual Senators or Members of Parliament and parliamentary committees. 

Services for parliamentarians include:
•    Estimates of the financial costs of any proposal over which Parliament has jurisdiction

Services for committees include:
•    Analyses of the nation’s finances or economy
•    Analyses of the government’s estimates

For political parties and independent members of the House of Commons during an election:
•    Estimates of the financial cost of an election campaign proposal (learn more here)

9.    Does the PBO have to accept any request it receives from parliamentarians or Committees? 

The Parliament of Canada Act outlines the PBO’s analysis responsibilities to respond to requests from committees, Senators, and members of House of Commons.  The PBO shall prepare research and analysis on matters of particular significance relating to Canada’s finances or economy, the estimates of the government, or the financial cost of any proposal that relates to a matter over which Parliament has jurisdiction, if requested by a Senate or House of Commons committee.
   
The PBO shall also estimate the financial cost of any proposal that relates to a matter over which Parliament has jurisdiction in response to a request from a member of the Senate or the House of Commons. The PBO may prepare reports on matters relating to the nation’s finances or economy that are listed in an annual work plan.

10.    What is the methodology used when preparing reports?

The methodology used by PBO analysts varies depending on the topics and data available. To establish the quality assurance of the work done, the methodology is described in each report published by PBO. 

All decisions relating to how we undertake a costing, the model we use, data, assumptions and methodology, are made by the PBO, exercising our best professional judgment.    While we may seek advice from a wide range of different sources on costing matters, the final decisions on how to cost policy proposals are all made by the PBO.

11.    Does the PBO make policy recommendations?

No. The PBO does not provide policy recommendations in its responses to requests from parliamentarians or in its reports. 

PBO costings focus on providing an assessment of the financial impact of a policy proposal.  They do not contain advice as to the merits or otherwise of the policy proposal. 

12.    Does a PBO costing mean that the PBO endorses the policy it analyzed?

No.  The PBO provides impartial and independent estimates of the financial impact of policy proposals on the budget, as well as other factual information on the effects of a policy, if requested.  It does not provide advice on the merits or otherwise of the policies that it examines.

13.    What are the PBO’s timelines to produce a report?

Every report differs in terms of complexity, data inputs, and data availability. The PBO reviews the request before determining how much time will be required to produce a report. It may take a few weeks or months to produce an analysis. Some simple analyses, can be completed quickly with the research tools. 

14.    How can parliamentarians or committees request analysis from the PBO? 

Requests from Members, Senators, or Committees should be addressed to the PBO by email at pbo-dpb@parl.gc.ca or by phone at 613-992-8026.

15.    What is the PBO’s relationship with the government (ministers and departments)?

The PBO works for Parliament and is independent of the government and the federal Public Service. The Parliamentary Budget Officer is an Agent of Parliament appointed by Parliament who reports to Parliament’s Presiding Officers (the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons).  

The PBO works closely with government departments and agencies to ensure that information provided to parliamentarians and published research is accurate.  The PBO has developed Memoranda of understanding with the heads of government departments to facilitate access to information.

16.    How is the PBO different from the Office of the Auditor General of Canada? 

The PBO and Office of the Auditor General of Canada are both Officers of Parliament responsible for promoting accountability and transparency. 

The Auditor General of Canada conducts independent audits of federal government operations, verifies the accounting methods and accuracy of government financial statements, and determines whether public funds were used efficiently and for their intended purposes.

The Parliamentary Budget Officer provides analysis to the Senate and House of Commons on government estimates, estimates of the financial costs of proposals or election campaign proposals, and analyses of the nation’s finances or economy.

In essence, the PBO promotes budget transparency and provides analysis to support parliamentary debate and the Office of the Auditor General investigates how budgeted funds have been spend and programs have been executed.

17.    Are there similar organizations to the PBO in other countries? 

Yes.  The Canadian PBO is one of many similar ‘independent fiscal institutions’ that have been established around the world. These include institutions like: 
•    The Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis (established in 1945),
•    The Congressional Budget Office in the United States (established in 1974),
•    The Korean National Assembly Budget Office (established in 2003), 
•    The Office for Budget Responsibility in the United Kingdom (established in 2010), and 
•    The Australian Parliamentary Budget Office (established in 2012).

18.    Does the PBO have a role in the preparation of the budget?

No.  Even if the PBO has developed considerable expertise in budget matters, the PBO works for Parliament rather than for the government of the day. The PBO provides Parliament with information about the budget, either at the request of parliamentarians or parliamentary committees, and through reports.  

19.    Where can I find PBO reports?

Every report that the PBO has prepared for Parliament, parliamentarians, and parliamentary committees can be found in the reports section of our website. Reports are always published simultaneously in both official languages.

You can stay connected by following the PBO on Twitter: @PBO_DPB
Our Twitter account provides updates on the most recent news, the release of reports, and other PBO activities.

Foire aux questions

La foire aux questions qui suit a pour but de fournir des réponses aux questions les plus souvent demandées. Elle sera mise à jour au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles questions se posent.

Pour en savoir plus sur le DPB pendant la période électorale, consultez la page FAQ du CPE.

1.    À quoi sert le directeur parlementaire du budget?

Le directeur parlementaire du budget (DPB) est un agent du Parlement indépendant et non partisan qui fournit des analyses économiques et financières indépendantes et impartiales aux parlementaires.

2.    Qu’est-ce qu’un agent du Parlement indépendant et non partisan?

Les agents du Parlement relèvent directement du Parlement (c’est-à-dire du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes) et non d’un ministre, ce qui les rend indépendants du gouvernement. Les responsabilités du DPB sont énoncées dans la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada.

3.    Quel est le rôle du DPB?

Le DPB appuie le Parlement en fournissant des analyses économiques et financières dans le but d’améliorer la qualité des débats parlementaires et de promouvoir davantage de transparence et une plus grande responsabilité en matière budgétaire. Les parlementaires ainsi que les comités peuvent s’adresser au DPB pour lui demander des analyses concernant des coûts financiers, les finances nationales ou l’économie du pays.

Le Parlement a confié au DPB les deux mandats suivants :

a.    Quand le Parlement n’est pas dissous
Le DPB fournit des analyses économiques et financières indépendantes au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes; analyse les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement; et, sur demande, évalue le coût financier de toute proposition relevant de la compétence du Parlement.

b.    Pendant les 120 jours qui précèdent un scrutin général à date fixe ou quand le Parlement est dissous en vue d’une élection générale
Le DPB fournit aux partis politiques qui en font la demande une estimation du coût financier des mesures proposées en campagne électorale qu’ils envisagent de mettre en œuvre.

4.    Quelle est la durée du mandat du DPB?

Le DPB est un agent du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes nommé à titre amovible pour un mandat renouvelable de sept ans, mais pour une durée ne devant pas excéder 14 ans en tout.

5.    Pourquoi a-t-on créé le poste de DPB?

Le poste de DPB a été créé en 2006 pour appuyer le Parlement dans son rôle de surveillance de la gestion gouvernementale des fonds publics, ce que le DPB fait en produisant des analyses économiques et financières indépendantes dans le but d’accroître la transparence budgétaire et de favoriser un débat public éclairé.

6.    Qui travaille pour le DPB?

La structure organisationnelle du Bureau du DPB est constituée d’équipes responsables respectivement de l’analyse budgétaire, de l’établissement du coût des politiques, de l’analyse financière, de l’analyse économique, des services administratifs, des communications et des ressources humaines. En tout, le Bureau compte une quarantaine d’employés, dont des économistes, des analystes financiers, des juristes et des professionnels fonctionnels.

7.    Sur quoi portent les analyses du DPB?

Le DPB a pour mandat de produire des analyses sur un vaste éventail de questions, de sorte que ses analystes doivent perfectionner leurs connaissances dans de nombreux domaines, comme les changements climatiques, le logement, les hautes technologies et la défense nationale, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns.

8.    Qui peut demander au DPB de faire des analyses?

Les parlementaires, à savoir les sénateurs et les députés, ainsi que les comités parlementaires peuvent demander au DPB de leur fournir des analyses.

Services offerts aux parlementaires :
•    évaluation du coût financier de toute proposition de mesure relevant de la compétence du Parlement.

Services à la disposition des comités :
•    analyse des finances ou de l’économie du pays;
•    analyse des prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement.

Service que peuvent demander les partis politiques et les députés indépendants en période électorale :
•    estimation du coût financier de mesures proposées pendant une campagne électorale (cliquez-ici pour en savoir plus).

9.    Le DPB doit-il accepter toutes les demandes des parlementaires ou des comités?

La Loi sur le Parlement du Canada énonce les responsabilités du DPB en ce qui concerne les réponses qu’il doit donner aux demandes provenant des comités, des sénateurs et des députés. Le DPB doit effectuer des recherches et des analyses sur des questions qui revêtent une importance particulière à l’égard des finances ou de l’économie du pays, sur les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement ou sur le coût financier de toute mesure proposée relevant des domaines de compétence du Parlement, à la demande des comités du Sénat ou de la Chambre des communes. 

Le DPB pourra également, à la demande d’un sénateur ou d’un député, évaluer le coût financier de toute mesure proposée relevant des domaines de compétence du Parlement. Le DPB pourra aussi préparer des rapports sur les questions concernant les finances ou l’économie du pays qui sont mentionnées dans un plan de travail annuel.

10.    Quelle est la méthodologie utilisée dans la préparation des rapports?

La méthodologie qu’emploient les analystes du Bureau du DPB varie en fonction des sujets traités et des données disponibles. Chaque rapport que publie le DPB présente la méthodologie utilisée à des fins d’assurance de la qualité.

Au Bureau du DPB, toutes les décisions concernant la manière dont est effectuée une évaluation de coût, le modèle utilisé, les données, les hypothèses et la méthodologie sont prises en exerçant le meilleur jugement professionnel qui soit. Même s’il est possible de demander conseil à un large éventail de sources différentes au sujet des questions d’établissement de coûts, les décisions ultimes sur la manière d’évaluer le coût de propositions de politiques sont toutes prises par le DPB.

11.    Le DPB peut-il faire des recommandations sur des politiques?

Non. Le DPB ne fait aucune recommandation dans ses réponses aux demandes des parlementaires ni dans ses rapports.

Les estimations de coût que fait le DPB visent à faire une évaluation de l’incidence financière d’une proposition de politique et non pas à fournir un avis sur le bien fondé ou non de la proposition.

12.    Le fait que le DPB fasse l’évaluation du coût d’une politique signifie-t-il qu’il approuve la politique qu’il a analysée?

Non. Le DPB fournit des estimations impartiales et indépendantes de l’incidence financière sur le budget des propositions de politiques, ainsi que d’autres informations factuelles sur les effets d’une politique, si on lui en fait la demande. Il ne donne pas son avis sur la valeur ou autre des politiques qu’il examine.

13.    De combien de temps le DPB dispose-t-il pour produire un rapport?

Le niveau de complexité, les données utilisées ainsi que les données disponibles varient d’un rapport à l’autre. Le DPB examine chaque demande avant de déterminer le temps nécessaire pour produire un rapport. Une analyse peut prendre de quelques semaines à quelques mois. Certaines analyses simples peuvent être réalisées rapidement grâce aux outils de recherche.

14.    Comment les parlementaires et les comités doivent-ils s’y prendre pour demander une analyse au DPB?

Les députés, les sénateurs et les comités doivent faire leurs demandes au DPB en écrivant à dpb-pbo@parl.gc.ca ou en appelant au 613-992-8026.

15.    Quel est le lien entre le DPB et le gouvernement (ministres et ministères et organismes)?

Le DPB travaille pour le Parlement et est indépendant du gouvernement et de la fonction publique fédérale. Il est un agent nommé par le Parlement qui relève de la présidence de l’institution (le Président du Sénat et le Président de la Chambre des communes).

Le DPB communique souvent avec des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux pour leur demander l’information et les données dont il a besoin pour effectuer ses analyses. Il doit parfois travailler avec ces ministères et organismes pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de l’information fournie aux parlementaires et des documents de recherche publiés. Le DPB a établi des protocoles d’entente avec les dirigeants de ministères et organismes pour faciliter l’accès à l’information.

16.    Qu’est-ce qui différencie le DPB du vérificateur général du Canada?

Le DPB et le vérificateur général du Canada sont tous deux des agents du Parlement ayant pour mandat de promouvoir la responsabilité et la transparence.

Le vérificateur général du Canada vérifie les méthodes de comptabilité et l’exactitude des états financiers du gouvernement, et détermine si les fonds publics ont été dépensés de façon efficiente et aux fins voulues par le Parlement.

Le DPB fournit au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes des analyses sur les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement, des évaluations du coût financier de propositions ou de mesures proposées en campagne électorale, et fait des analyses sur les finances ou l’économie du pays.

Fondamentalement, le DPB favorise la transparence budgétaire et fournit des analyses pour alimenter le débat parlementaire, tandis que le vérificateur général enquête sur la manière dont les fonds prévus au budget ont été dépensés et les programmes mis en œuvre.

Pour résumer, le vérificateur général détermine généralement combien aura coûté finalement un programme ou une proposition du gouvernement et ce qui n’a pas fonctionné, tandis que le DPB s’efforce de faire une estimation du coût à prévoir pour de nouveaux programmes ou des propositions de programmes.

17.    Existe-t-il des équivalents au DPB dans d’autres pays?

Oui. Le Bureau du DPB canadien ressemble à de nombreuses autres « institutions budgétaires indépendantes » existant dans le monde, dont :
•    le Bureau d’analyse de la politique économique des Pays-Bas (constitué en 1945),
•    le Congressional Budget Office des États-Unis (créé en 1974),
•    la Commission budgétaire de l’Assemblée nationale de Corée du Sud (formée en 2003),
•    l’Office for Budget Responsibility du Royaume-Uni (établi en 2010),
•    l’Australian Parliamentary Budget Office (fondé en 2012).

18.    Le DPB joue-t-il un rôle dans la préparation du budget?

Non. Même s’il a développé une expertise considérable en matière budgétaire, le DPB travaille pour le Parlement et non pour le gouvernement en place. Il fournit au Parlement des informations sur le budget une fois que celui-ci a été déposé, et n’a pas accès aux documents budgétaires ni à aucune information sur le budget avant son dépôt.

19.    Où puis-je trouver les rapports du DPB?

Tous les rapports que le DPB a produits pour le Parlement, les députés et sénateurs ainsi que les comités parlementaires se trouvent dans la section consacrée aux rapports, sur le site Web du Bureau du DPB. Ces rapports sont toujours publiés simultanément dans les deux langues officielles.

Il est possible de suivre le DPB sur Twitter via le compte @DPB_PBO.

Sur son compte Twitter, le DPB fournit des mises à jour sur les nouvelles les plus récentes, la publication de rapports et ses autres travaux et activités.