Research Tools

Ready Reckoner

The PBO has developed an online tool to estimate the potential revenue impacts to the federal treasury that would arise from adjusting various federal tax rates, credits, and brackets during the calendar year.

View Ready Reckoner

Public debt charges calculator

Within the framework of the next electoral campaign, the PBO developed a tool allowing political parties to estimate the interest charges from their new proposals.

For example, if a party wants to implement a measure and its cost is financed by the public debt, then public debt charges will be added to the cost of said measure. Similarly, if a party wants to implement a measure with a net expected revenue, then the revenue would reduce the public debt and would therefore reduce the public debt charges.

To use the tool, the user must only enter in the appropriate boxes the expected revenue and spending associated with the measure(s) for which they want to estimate the cost in interest. Interest rates projected by the PBO are then applied to the difference between the revenue and the spending. As a result, the user will be able to see the cumulative surplus/deficit including public debt charges associated with one or more measures. The results are displayed over a 10-year horizon.

View Public debt charges calculator

Outils de recherche

Simulateur budgétaire (Barème)

Le DPB a mis au point un outil en ligne, Simulateur budgétaire (Barème), qui permet d’estimer l’impact potentiel qu’aurait sur les recettes du Trésor fédéral la modification des taux, des crédits et des tranches de l’impôt fédéral.

Consulter Simulateur budgétaire (Barème)

Calculateur des frais sur la dette publique

Dans le cadre de la prochaine campagne électorale, le DPB a développé un outil permettant aux partis politiques d’estimer les frais en intérêts de leurs nouvelles propositions.

Par exemple, si une mesure est proposée et son coût est financé par la dette publique, alors des frais d’intérêt s’ajouteront au coût total de ladite mesure. De même, si une mesure est proposée et permet d’engranger de nouveaux revenus, alors ceux-ci permettront de réduire la dette publique et ainsi de réduire les frais d’intérêt payés sur celle-ci.

Afin d’utiliser l’outil, l’usager n’a qu’à entrer dans les cases indiquées le revenu et les dépenses provenant des mesures dont il/elle désire estimer les frais d’intérêt. Des taux d’intérêt projetés par le DPB sont ensuite appliqués à la différence entre les revenus et les dépenses. L’usager pourra ainsi voir le surplus/déficit cumulatif incluant les frais d’intérêt sur la dette publique provenant d’une ou de plusieurs mesures. Les résultats sont reportés sur un horizon de 10 ans.

Consulter le calculateur des frais sur la dette publique