The OPBO at a Glance

Position Created: December 2006

Parliamentary Budget Officer :  Yves Giroux (appointed September 4, 2018)

Budget: $2.8 million for FY 2017-18

Staff: 34 employees

Purpose: The PBO’s purpose is to support Parliament by providing analysis, including analysis of macroeconomic and fiscal policy, for the purposes of raising the quality of parliamentary debate and promoting greater budget transparency and accountability.

Mandate: The PBO’s mandate is to provide independent and non-partisan analysis to Parliament on the budget, the estimates and other documents, as well as matters of particular significance relating to the nation’s finances or economy listed in the PBO’s annual work plan; and at the request of a committee or a parliamentarian, to estimate the financial cost of any proposal that relates to matters over which Parliament has jurisdiction. Certain committees can also request analyses of the nation’s finances or economy or the estimates.

 

Position

Name GEDS Email
Parliamentary Budget Officer
Parliamentary Budget Officer Yves Giroux 613-992-8026 pbo-dpb@parl.gc.ca
PBO Staff
Economic Analyst Nasreddine Ammar 613-617-7519 Nasreddine.Ammar@parl.gc.ca

Economic Advisor-Analyst

Philip Bagnoli 613-286-2687 Philip.Bagnoli@parl.gc.ca
Office Manager Nancy Beauchamp 613-992-8026 Nancy.Beauchamp@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Robert Behrend 613-294-2790 Robert.Behrend@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Étienne Bergeron 613-292-7472 Étienne.Bergeron@parl.gc.ca
Financial Advisor-Analyst

Govindadeva Bernier

613-769-4988 Govindadeva.Bernier@parl.gc.ca
Economic Advisor-Analyst

Scott Cameron

613-291-5423 Scott.Cameron@parl.gc.ca
Economic Analyst Eskandar Elmarzougui 613-797-5698 Eskandar.Elmarzougui@parl.gc.ca
Research Assistant

Tessa Devakos

613-295-2527 Tessa.Devakos@parl.gc.ca

Economic Analyst Kristina Grinshpoon 613-794-1635 Kristina.Grinshpoon@parl.gc.ca
Senior Director, Costing and Budgetary Analysis Jason Jacques 613-853-1596 Jason.Jacques@parl.gc.ca
Economic Analyst Raphaël Liberge-Simard 613-296-0116 Raphael.Liberge-Simard@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Sarah MacPhee 613-294-2873 Sarah.MacPhee@parl.gc.ca
Director of Policy (Costing) & General Counsel Mark Mahabir 613-301-6708 Mark.Mahabir@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Carleigh Malanik-Busby 613-853-8763 Carleigh.Malanik@parl.gc.ca
Deputy Chief Financial Officer and Acting Director of Parliamentary Relations, Outreach and Planning Sloane Mask 613-992-8044 Sloane.Mask@parl.gc.ca
Senior Director, Economic and Fiscal Analysis Chris Matier 613-992-8004 Chris.Matier@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Nora Nahornick 613-294-1763 Nora.Nahornick@parl.gc.ca
Economic Analysist Caroline Nicol 613-295-1626 Caroline.Nicol@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Christopher Penney 613-294-2756 Christopher.Penney@parl.gc.ca
Coordinator, Administrative Services Nathalie Potvin-Buckler 613-298-0095 Nathalie.Potvin-Buckler@parl.gc.ca
Economic Advisor-Analyst Tim Scholz 613-219-1109 Tim.Scholz@parl.gc.ca
Administrative Assistant Jocelyne Scrim 613-943-1333 Jocelyne.Scrim@parl.gc.ca
Economic Analyst Tiberiu Scutaru 613-294-2159 Tiberiu.Scutaru@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Ben Segel-Brown 613-996-0787

Ben.Segel-Brown@parl.gc.ca

Director, Fiscal analysis Trevor Shaw 613-617-5709 Trevor.Shaw@parl.gc.ca
Special Advisor Binyam Solomon 613-218-5339 Binyam.Solomon@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Diarra Sourang 613-295-2257 Diarra.Sourang@parl.gc.ca
Research Assistant Varun Srivatsan 613-295-0219 Varun.Srivatsan@parl.gc.ca
Financial Analyst Jason Stanton 613-790-1457 Jason.Stanton@parl.gc.ca
Manager, Human Resources Services Julie Sullivan 613-301-5191 Julie.Sullivan@parl.gc.ca
Human Resources Analyst for Staffing and Classification Ryan Watson 613-698-6568 Ryan.Watson@parl.gc.ca
Research Assistant Nigel Wodrich 613-296-0174 Nigel.Wodrich@parl.gc.ca
Director, Budgetary analysis Xiaoyi Yan 613-992-8026 Xiaoyi.Yan@parl.gc.ca